SocialPhobiaWorld.com  
     

Home Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

Go Back   SocialPhobiaWorld.com > Social Anxiety Disorder Forums > Support
You are viewing the Possible Money Scam thread in Support.
Preview: Hey people On of our members was cool enough to let us know that someone contacted them via this site.From what's been said it sounds like some sort of money scam asking people to invest.If anyone else has had simlar things pm one of us *blows dust off the ban ...

Post New Thread Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2009, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Elite User
Danfalc's Avatar
 

Default Possible Money Scam

Hey people

On of our members was cool enough to let us know that someone contacted them via this site.From what's been said it sounds like some sort of money scam asking people to invest.If anyone else has had simlar things pm one of us *blows dust off the ban hammer*

Serioursly though,this person was able to obtain an email address which was not just ready available,so be extra carefull what info you give out,because apart from the info you guys give out its only us mods who "should" have acsess to that sort of stuff.

Danfalc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-29-2009, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Expert User
PunkRotten's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

Yeah once someone mentions money about anything be very careful.
PunkRotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Begbie
Elite User
FOR REAL's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

dont give anyone your bank details or anything like that, theres loads of con artists out there!
if they dont have any of these kind of details, they cant harm you.
FOR REAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Begbie
Elite User
FOR REAL's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

thanks danfalc for letting us know about this though. cheers
FOR REAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
Elite User
Danfalc's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

No problemo dreamer777,thanks to a few of you guy's getting in touch we know its just the one person trying to scam people.Her email address is mariamelias@yahoo.com .

So if you get any email's off this person,block it so the emails either get deleted or put in your junk mail box.Or feel free to spam them like mad till we overload their computer lol joking about that.

I think if enough people mark this persons emails as spam,this person will end up blacklisted,that's about the only thing I can think of until we get a letter written up for yahoo about this person.

Again,if anyone else gets similar things,please contact one of the mods,hopefully the more evidence we have the better.
Danfalc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 04:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newbie User
2ate's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

people would still fall for those scams?
2ate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 11:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Intermediate User
hoddesdon's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

Another way of dealing with this is to report the email address to the relevant provider. With the email it is important to forward the full headers (or whatever it is called by that provider). The full headers are the metadata for the email.

These are the addresses for complaints:

Yahoo abuse@yahoo.com
MSN report_spam@msn.com
Hotmail report_spam@hotmail.com
Gmail abuse@gmail.com
Live.com report_spam@live.com

Sending spam is contrary to the "Terms of Service" or "Terms of Use", so the account can be cancelled.
hoddesdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Jin
Newbie User
Jin's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

someones taking advantage of us...... i pity them......btw good work guys.....keep it up...

"Where love rules, there is no will to power; and where power predominates, there love is lacking. The one is the shadow of the other...."
Jin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Intermediate User
hoddesdon's Avatar
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danfalc View Post
No problemo dreamer777,thanks to a few of you guy's getting in touch we know its just the one person trying to scam people.Her email address is mariamelias@yahoo.com .

So if you get any email's off this person,block it so the emails either get deleted or put in your junk mail box.Or feel free to spam them like mad till we overload their computer lol joking about that.

I think if enough people mark this persons emails as spam,this person will end up blacklisted,that's about the only thing I can think of until we get a letter written up for yahoo about this person.

Again,if anyone else gets similar things,please contact one of the mods,hopefully the more evidence we have the better.
There is no need to write a letter to Yahoo - just forward the email with the full headers to abuse@yahoo.com. There is a link below the email hard on the right saying "full headers". Click on it and the full headers appear. They disappear again when forwarding the email being complained about, so copy them and paste them into the forwarded email. Full headers are metadata about the email.

Ken Randall
hoddesdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newbie User
 

Default Re: Possible Money Scam

Thanks for letting me know about this possibility; it seems there are so many people out there who would do anything to make money.
James1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads to Possible Money Scam
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know a work from home job thats no SCAM? EmO_tionAlChick Off Topic 2 12-21-2008 04:35 AM
Money sabbath92003 Texts, Poems, Dreams, Phrases... 2 09-10-2008 08:16 PM
Money Tab Social Anxiety Forum 14 06-30-2008 04:37 PM
Missing Money Horatio Off Topic 7 08-05-2005 07:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
Style Copyright: Wrestling Clique Wrestling Forum