Am I normal or should I consult?

riflyk

Hello, I am 27 years old. I am doing my PhD and I live on my own. I normally like to be alone and I try me best to avoid people. I sneak out of apartment when there is no one in lobby, I eat alone (I am scared of going to eat in canteen), I avoid parties and gatherings. I do not go to tea-breaks or anywhere I have to meet people and say hello. If I have to attend meeting I cannot sleep from a day before. I shake every time I have to introduce myself. I always make stupid mistakes even in super markets or restaurants or anywhere because I am so nervous. And many people think I am timid, shy and serious.

But there is another part of it. When I am with my old friends from my (undergraduate) I feel good, I talk a lot, call them, they think I am chatterbox, I laugh and people thinks I am friendly and extrovert. There are quite some people who think I am extrovert, funny and smart.

So, I do not know why I do that... its involuntary (even if I try I cannot) but I act completely different with two groups of people. Also with some of my friends whom I know from childhood, I feel shy to speak to them.

I was always shy person and a loner from my childhood, normally I never made friends and used to live in my imaginary world. At one time in my life I was taking marijuana then I changed a lot. I became less timid. If I had made any friends then it was only that time (they are still the only close friends I have).

So, is it perfectly normal to act completely different over enthusiastic and extrovert in one time and completely timid and withdrawn with other group of people. I sometime feel as if I am Dr. Jkeyll and Mr. Hyde. I do not have control but I think I am extremely opposite in different situation. I normally do not drink (1-2 times a months) and smoke 2-3 cigarettes a day. I smoke because I feel less nervous when I smoke.

I would like suggestion if what I am going through is normal or should I go and consult psychologists.