calling all iontophoresis techies, please help!!

t02njp5

Hi everyone, can I ask for your technical help with iontophoresis. This is a quite detailed post, sorry.

I should probably confess now that I am a Physics teacher, who probably should know the answers to her own questions, but I don't!!!!

I was using the Drionic device for a few weeks for hands and feet. It was frying my fingertips, so I took Sprawlings advice, opened up the back, pulled out the wires and attached them to two aluminium dishes. So far so good.

My curiosity got the better of me and I wanted to know how much current the device was delivering. I checked with a multimeter and it was around 10mA for hands and 5mA for feet with an output voltage of around 7V using a fresh Drionic battery. That made sense as the current path for the feet would have more resistance. I was concerned as, looking at other posts, people report currents of 18mA using commercial and handmade devices and that a minimum current of 5mA is needed for ionto to work.

I decided to make a homemade device. I bought an AC/DC transformer with variable output from 0-12V, stripped the wires and added croc clips. I attached these to the pie dishes. With identical test conditions I only get a maximum of 0.5mA at 12V. Strange!!

Another test with identical test conditions and a fresh 9V battery gives a current of 0.4mA.

What's going on? I know that there is a difference in the treatments as I can only feel the tingling sensation when using the Drionic set up.

I was thinking about some kind of internal resistance issue with the battery and AC/DC adapter that is overcome with the Drionic electronics.

Has anyone got any ideas? I would really appreciate some feedback. If anyone has measured voltage and current for homemade devices that would also be great information.

On a positive note, the ionto is definitely working for my hands, but not for my feet. So glad that I tried this method after 30 years of the standard HH misery.

Thanks