hard time finding a job i can handle

msroseross09

I'm new to this, and I'm 20 years old, I've been trying to look for a decent job, that maybe I could tolerate, I don't enjoy talking or being around other people much, but with any job you have to deal with people, I need to work but I just can't see myself working in a store or a fast food place because i feel like I'd be very miserable, and wouldn't be able to do the job well, because I always feel on edge and unconfortable when I'm around people. I just don't know what to do, and no one seems to understand that, being that i'm around mostly outgoing people:/ any help?

dead24

Hi you are not alone. Im about to graduate next year. And almost everyday i can't stop worrying about how am i supposed to get a job or IF i can get a job. I cant stop thinking about how am i supposed to deal with my co-workers and my boss, about how am i going to be accepted by other people if my social skills are totally gone now etc. But its nice to know im not alone.

ShyChild

Yes it's hard. I'm 25 now & while it does get a little easier, I'm still waiting for it to not be so hard. The only jobs I've had that I really thought I could handle were working at a library and as a pre-school teacher assistant. The longest job was as a waitress (when I was 20) & it was kind of traumatic. Although, tips were good, people were pretty abusive. If you can, I'd avoid positions food industry. Those are the jobs I've struggled the most with. It can get pretty fast paced & people (coworkers & customers) can get real mean.

I've never tried it b/c of my asthma, but maybe you could work with animals (pet store or vet's office).

Sorry I can't be more helpful, but good luck.

armadillo

One of my first jobs was to shelve books in a library. I used to enjoy shelving because I worked alone. Occasionally someone would ask me a question but it wasn't often. And it helped me get used to people a bit more.

kristina303