Hey!

sayagain

Hello everybody,

I've been reading this forum for a while now and thought it was about time to register and introduce myself.

I've suffered from hyperhidrosis since I was about 12 years old (I'm now 22) and until recently it's something that I've made major lifestyle changes to accomodate - I'm sure the story is familiar to most people, not going out because my face would be covered in sweat, struggling to cope at work because having a face full of sweat etc...

When I was 18 I worked in a shop and one day my manager asked me why I was sweating and told me to go and get a paper tissue and wipe it off, I was so embarrased when I went to get the paper tissue I collected my things and never went back. In hindsight, I should have probably gone to the doctor with this issue but I just thought it was because I was overweight.

I moved to Spain not so long ago and the temperatures where constant 30 degrees, sometimes up to 47 degrees in the summer - this involved a lot of sweat. The job I was doing was a very social one and it was getting beyond a joke, fortunately nobody mentioned it and I wore clothes tactically to avoid showing most of it.

After returning back to the UK I've been searching solutions, I tried all the roll ons, sprays and such like which made absolutely no difference whatsover. Finally this week I bit the bullet and went to see the doctor, fortunately or unfortunately for me the doctor wasn't familiar with hyperdidrosis and asked what research I had done - I explained I had spent many sleepless nights on the internet looking for solutions and I found "propantheline bromide" and he agreed to prescribe it to me.