Iontophoresis is Torture.

Roads

Well, I just completed an incredibly painful iontophoresis session a few minutes ago.

I have been using drionic for about 5 months now to stop hand sweating. And it does work, somewhat, but mother of f***ing god it is painful. I was sitting there for 30 minutes, sometimes screaming in pain, and I couldn't help but realize: I'm going to be doing this for the rest of my life. And I still sweat profusely in any kind of social situation.

I'm not really sure that life with this illness is worth it anymore(not to mention the long list of other irrevocable problems I have). The topicals never worked for me, the side effects for the medications seem unreasonable, and the ETS is just insane and everyone knows it.

f*** it, i guess im just ranting.

what do you guys think?

BiGz

Hey bud, how long have you been using it for? Also can't you try a lower setting? I'm not familiar with using one of these but from what I hear it becomes less painful over a short period of time.

I'm looking for a ionthreposis machine soon too as nothing short of being 100% calm or drunk works for me either.

Roads

Lowering the settings too much results in the treatment essentially not working as well. The pain is sometimes easier to bare, but most of the time its not.

beckiboo

lol I know what you mean, it does tingle a bit! ive just completed a month's course at hospital and my hands seem pretty dry so far, I didnt notice a difference till the 6th-7th session and im defo gonna get a home use machine, I figure its worth the pain for the improvement ive seen so far..

dpr

i've been using it for about a year now, not the dristar but the fischer md-1a.

it does tingle but i wouldn't describe it as extremely painful. uncomfortable maybe, but not painful. and i crank the thing up to 9.5 (about 19 ma)