Iontophoresis tips

domadi

Hi,

Some of you may remember me (domadi) from the MSN Excessive Sweating Forum from awhile back (see Idrostar-related posts there from 2001). Well, I'm back to share some tips that have been working for me. I've been doing iontophoresis since 1997. (Fischer from 1997-2001; Idrostar from 2001-present).

This is how I use my Idrostar:

After making sure that there are no electrical power sources or electronic devices nearby so that it's safe, I put both of my hands in one tray with water, while both of my feet are in the other water tray. I then use my left elbow to turn the knob to 25mA-30mA, and do this for 10 minutes on the + polarity. After 10 minutes, I use my elbow (with hands still in the tray--takes practice) to turn it back to 0mA and then take my hands out. I then switch the polarity to finish the remaining 10 minutes. This method reduces the iontophoresis sesssion by half, as it is now 20-25 minutes a session, instead of the typical 40-50 minutes.

I've noticed that the iontophoresis will be more effective if you can get your hands to stop sweating before putting in the trays. What I do is I buy some tomato juice cans (small 8oz cans) cans that you can buy for cheap at a supermarket and put a number of them in the freezer. "Cool" your hands by holding on the frozen can for 20 seconds or more (you may want to also put a couple frozen cans under your feet to cool them too. After the hand sweating has ceased, then put your hands in the water trays. When you're done with your session, grab your frozen cans again to 'numb' your sweat glands. I would also recommend washing your hand with cold water and soap (to remove the remaining oils and any vaseline that may be on there).