No employment embarrassment

Tlachtgha

I went to the bank to open a new account yesterday and while going through the rigmarole of setting it up the question of what I do for a living arose.
"I'm unemployed" I answered truthfully.
I was then asked how long I've been unemployed.
"Since I finished school" was the only answer I could give.

Rightly or wrongly I found it intensely humiliating. I felt so small and contemptible in the eyes of the other person.
I've been in similar situations before and have always felt the same.
Because I'm not obviously disabled in some way it's all too easy for others to assume that people in my situation are just too lazy to bother working but there are few things that upset and frustrate me more than the fact that my problems have held me back from some sort of career.
I've taken the first couple of short steps to rectifying this in recent months but any progress will inevitably be slow and very difficult.

So few people understand just how debilitating and life-destroying conditions like SP or OCD can be.
Bastards!:)

Kustamogen

Banned
yah I havent had a "normal" job in 7 or 8 years....I do odd jobs for my dads company from home (thats like for a couple weeks every few months).....my friends make fun of me a lot for being a "bum" and such....hell its definitely not by choice!!!!!

mrb

dont feel to bad, in this job climate at mo there are millions without jobs , over here and in usa

Krista

I can agree with that. I'm sure that the combination of intense fear and bad economy for some us is a deal breaker. I always feel awful when I'm actively looking for a job and am told "If you're not going to work you need to find yourself something useful to do until school starts again."..as if I like being unemployed with no money ::(:

BlackKids

No worries mate, the job climate is not in great shape here. No real security and very little new opportunities. Its getting to everyone.