Should you get ETS?

WetPalms

Hi everyone,

Long time lurker, rare poster - I am pleased to say that this will be my last post on this site.

On Dec 31, I had ETS surgery.

I did not make this decision lightly, I am a lawyer (though please do not take anything in this post as legal advice!) with a science background, and my specialization has been defending doctors in negligence cases.

I have long been a sufferer of hyperhidrosis (particularly my palms, forehead and underarms and less so on my chest, back and feet). It has taken a huge psychological toll on me throughout most of my life, crippling me socially, romantically and professionally.
For a long time I tried ignoring it hoping it would one day go away - but when it started affecting me professionally (no one trusts a sweaty lawyer!) I decided to take action.
I tried drysol (didnt work), botox (didnt work) and avert (worked for about a year and then stopped working).

Finally, I asked my doctor about other options, he suggested ETS.
I asked 3 doctors for a second opinion and read more than 30 articles on pubmed about the procedure.

It seemed like the answer - very safe, reliable, and a complete and permanent cure.
Yet I held off, because of the horror stories I read on the internet.

After about 6 months on the fence, I booked a consultation with a doctor specializing in sweat treatments.

I live in Canada, and the operation is completely covered by our national health coverage, so there was no financial incentive for the doctor to lie to me. I came very prepared with a list of questions and had a frank conversation with the doctor about the benefits and risks.

I asked him about the online hate and he told me - every procedure, particularly those considered "elective" has risks. The ones who it doesnt turn out well for are always the most vocal. He has done over 500 of these surgeries and had seen 2 bad results, do they happen? yes.