telling people that I need them

Why is it so hard to tell somebody that you need them?

For example if I want a friend to come along with me to do something or go some place. Instead of telling them straight up "I want to go do _____ with you" or especially "I'd really like it if you could go with me", I'd always try to convince them that it'd be fun from their standpoint like "come on dude you'll have fun, and plus, they've got free food", or "hey it's not like you're doing anything else tonight. You can only be a little boy once you know".

Or sometimes I make up an excuse so that it sounds like I need them to go with me as a favor, "I can't focus when I'm studying alone; i got no self control and I need somebody to supervise me".

Other times I'd even blurt out things that are mean: "all of my other friends (that's a lie - i have no other friends) are busy, that's why I'm asking you". -- ANYTHING but admitting that I really want that person's company. I have no clue why I do that. it really baffles me

slicknsly

I think you do it because who really wants to show affection or emotions? Its like saying dude I need you man and gonna miss you, lets hang out. Its much better to just be like come on man its going to be cool, lets chill. Maybe because you have no other friends you want to tell them you want to hang out with them specifically, but because they have other friends they can hang out with they dont see the same importance you do. Or maybe they just don't feel like hanging out sometimes as I feel often.

Last edited:

reslo

I think a lot of people are like that- whether or not they have sa, they just make excuses because expressing sappy emotions of gratitude can sometimes make things a little bit awkward.