Twenty-something AvPD

dottie

This is it. I definitely am AvPD.

A little about me... I'm in my late twenties and suffer from AvPD. Yes I would call it suffering because, since I cannot be myself around people, I think so many people have the wrong perception of me. And that is sad. I often feel dismissed as lazy, incompetent, stupid, slow (even though I've been a straight A college student)... No one says these things to me but I can sense that is their perception of me. I get it so much that I am completely insecure about who I am.

What is wrong with me?

Why do I so desperately need everyone to like me? I'm 20-something I shouldn't give a shit what people think of me. It should be the last thing on my mind, yet it is the first. It is an obsession.

Am I a functioning autistic?

Am I an mildly retarded?

I seriously began to question weather or not I am mildly retarded or autistic. I know I'm not but... socially I feel like I am. And, in this society, even though I am so obviously socially inept it is still unacceptable to talk about. Especially when you are an adult. It is OK to be that way as a child, especially as a female. Females are "supposed to be shy" in this patriarchal society anyways, right? Well, I am no longer a child and it is beyond charming shyness. It is debilitating.

So how does this AvPD manifest itself? First and foremost is eye contact. Eye contact is repelling to me like trying to put two like-polar magnets together, it almost feels painful as though the person can see right into the pit of my soul and read my every thought and feeling. 99% of the time people take my fear of eye contact the wrong way. To them it means I am dishonest, incompetent, weird, awkward, uneasy, psycho, etc. So, I am afraid of people, they get a bad perception of me when I cannot make eye contact, and it makes the situation even more awkward.