A bit of advice please

Hi people, i just wanted to ask a question about something to see what you lot thought, because i'm really stuck with it.
You see, i really want to be a graphic artist. But the problem is that i've gotten into this sort of mindset that only the best people out there get chosen to do it, and not the people which are just quite good (which is where i know i am at). I think things to myself such as 'why would anybody pick my stuff to published when there are an awful lot of people out there which are better than i am?, and are amoung the best'. Also i was round at my uncles house the other day, and i started telling everybody what i wished i could do for a living when they asked me what i was doing with myself nowadays. And one of my uncles friends came out with 'ah yeah, graphic artist, one of my sons friends wants to get into that, but it's exetremly competitive'. That made me question the whole situation a whole lot more. As long as i was safe in the knowledge that it isn't only the best which get chosen for publication etc, then i'd be alright. but it's just as though there is a huge instability in me with that at the moment, and it's as though i need it documented as a fact that it isn't only the best which get picked (because i know for a fact i am not amoung the best, and i'm not just being paranoid)
eurgh, i've done enough rambling for now lol

any replies at all with whatever you think would be greatly appreciated
thanks

MadCat

Hey!

I'm into 3D graphics myself. I've learning more about animations instead of the models. What type of graphics artist? Photoshop? etc...

Where do you think the ones at the top got there? There's this guy, Sabastien Laban I think his name is..he's not really UP there at the top yet his stuff rivals alot of stuff I've seen by individuals.

You'll get your stuff published. All you need is to try get your best and put them on a demoreel. Once again, I'm talking from a 3D animator POV though.