Another Sob Story...

silgado106

(I am so sorry this post came out so huge! :()

Hi everyone. I've been reading the posts in the forum for a while now, but I have yet to make a long post yet. I know many people post their problems here, and I don't know if things get too repetitive, but I feel like I would need some advice and there's no other way to ask for it other than by posting my "sob" story.

I'm 18, in college, and I have very recently learned about SP. Here in FSU (Florida State University) I decided to try to get a DIS (basically like an internship) with a lab in the Psychology Department (I am majoring in Math and Psych, so I thought this would be a great starting point). I sent an e-mail to the people in the lab, like the flyer said, and waited for a response. You can imagine how I felt when they asked me to go to an interview (all I wanted was to get accepted through e-mail and show up for work one day!). Well I was nervous about the meeting for the whole week (at this point I considered myself "very shy" and that is all the reason I needed to justify my nervousness about things like this). Well the interview turned out pretty good, and then I was asked to go to a second interview (I was not as scared about this one since I had done pretty well on the first one, but I still felt if I could have skipped it it would have been so much better for me). But anyway, I was accepted for the DIS, and I was told what the lab was about. It turns out they deal with research and patients with Anxiety Disorders. I decided to check their web-site, and I found a link to a page with information about Social Phobia. I read it all, and I was very shocked to find out that it sounded A LOT like me. Since then I've been reading some things here and there about Social Phobia, and I am also asking the psychologists I work with about it. I always thought I was just a shy person, but it now turns out I might actually have a Psychological Disorder? Well I didn't want to go ahead