Anybody like me?

esp

This is really hard for me, I even have a fear of posting. But here goes, I'm 29 and I'm wondering if anyone has social phobia as bad as me, because I still live at home, I've never had a real job (i've only studied by correspondence), I never go out alone, I can't use the phone, I have no friends, I've never had a boyfriend. The list goes on. But recently I had a nervous breakdown and now I'm getting help, I'm on antidepressants, getting cognitive-behavioural therapy with a psychologist. My problem started at school with friends rejecting me, and being teased for being shy (they called me the silent one). I'm scared to post this but I'm gonna try anyway.

Dedication

Hi, ESP...welcome to the forum :D . It sounds like you might have agoraphobia as well as social phobia (admittedly I'm no expert but I think the two sometimes go hand-in-hand). But you're moving in the right direction with CBT and meds and hopefully these are helping (I just started CBT myself).

Just remember that you're not alone. Most people on this forum have SP and variations thereof and can offer excellent knowledge and advice and support :D .

Crimefish

I have had social phobia, agoraphobia and generalised anxiety disorder for as long as I can remember. I'm 17 and I started CBT (without meds; I'm too young) a few sessions ago.
I never leave the house without my "safe person" (mum) so I've only had one-ish offline boyfriend.

esp

Thanks for replying! I thought noone would reply to my post, but that's social phobia for you! Its nice to know there are other people out there with the same problem.

GettingThere

Hello and welcome esp.
I hope that the medication does the trick for you. It has certainly helped me at different times in my life.

JWH