Career change

AsTimeBurns

So I feel like I need a career change already. Been working as a web devleoper for 6 months, but I can't take it much longer, it's so dull and the sitting staring at code for 8 hours a day is killing my head and neck and i'm always in a lot of pain most of the day.

Problem is, I have no idea what else to do. I studied computing at uni for 3 years so I could get a job like this and now I hate it :/ I'm not really qualified for anything else.

Anyone else changed careers completely? Any thoughts/advice?

Hoppy

A while ago I read a article about sport, and one of the people said that in sport there is such a lot of work that is about sport that isn't about doing the activity (think agents, therapists, press etc. )

In computers there is also lots of jobs that isn't just about coding. So every time you work at your computer, look around and see what the other people are doing, and maybe you will find your niche.

And I'm sure computers were not your only subject at Uni.

AsTimeBurns

Yes they were, we don't do a major/minor system here, you just study one thing, which was Computing for me.

So I feel like I need a career change already. Been working as a web devleoper for 6 months, but I can't take it much longer, it's so dull and the sitting staring at code for 8 hours a day is killing my head and neck and i'm always in a lot of pain most of the day.

Problem is, I have no idea what else to do. I studied computing at uni for 3 years so I could get a job like this and now I hate it :/ I'm not really qualified for anything else.

Computer trainer/teacher?

nopark

I'm also a web developer and I've suffered from the same sort of symptoms you described. At least for me it wasn't about the career/industry, it was about the specific jobs I was doing. I was getting burnt out.