Excessive Reaction Monitoring

randomguy19

One of the problems that I've noticed with myself is that I tend to monitor others reactions to what I have said/done. In addition, I monitor my own self. When I tense up, and project nervous body language, and my mind goes blank when asked for an opinion are things that I notice while in the interaction. After the conversation, I feel disappointed with myself, and feel mentally exhausted. I'm a college student, and my lack of social skills/negative body language are truly showing to others and to myself. Can anybody else relate, either it be at school, work, or just a casual conversation?

MothMan

I do the exact same as well. I think it just comes off as lack of confidence. I know for me its mostly hesitance in my actions and i end up stumbling over my words when i do speak up.

Aiyieeeee

Do it all the time. Social situations can haunt me for days because I'm over analyzing what happened, what I did, what I said, what other's said, how they reacted, how I perceive their reactions, what I'm assuming they thought.

It gets bad. It's a common/classic symptom.

randomguy19

Yes! I can relate! Thank you so much for providing us with an actual term to describe this behavior! Now I can explain myself better to my therapist. As soon as I read your post, I realized that I do this as well. I did it just yesterday when I went job searching. I wonder if people see this and how they percieve me? Maybe I make people uncomfortable? Thanks again! You've been of great help!
PLEASE share what your therapist says!

Hellhound

Super Moderator
I do that too, but not during a social situation, but afterwards... I start thinking if i should/shouldn't have said something, or if what i said was ok or they think i'm an idiot, etc. I can get very paranoid over this... thinking that others will dislike me or laugh at me.

paintedblue