Finally feel normal

Hey guys, just thought I'd pop in to mention a quick word - in the hope that I can help 1 person.

My history - Been anxious all my life, social phobia kicked in hard around the age 23. I used to smoke a lot of gunga and I have abused many drugs in my time. I always related my anxiety issues with drug and alcohol abuse. I have always had ****ty jobs because I was too anxious to go to school. I've been on and off avanza (mirtazapine) for the past 7 years. Currently weaning off and down to the small dose of 7.5mg. I have been avoiding social situations big time for the past 4 years. My symptoms were just as extreme as everyone else's on this forum and so I started medicating myself with alcohol, beer in fact - between 4 and 10 beers a night after work. Weekends I would get paralytic just to cover up my anxiety in front of others. To say the least I was lost and couldn't talk to anyone about it, I am to proud for that.

I started university in July for the first time in my life. I'm 33 now. The reason I started is because I thought it would help me get better - in fact it just made things worse and the fake shakey smiles were louder than ever. I saw a psych in September around my birthday which only crushed my pride further in to the ground with no alleviation of my depression and anxiety. I have seriously worked on my self for over 10 years in the hope of healing any pain I feel on a day to day basis. There was a theme to my symptoms that I just couldn't pin point though which kept me in the belief that maybe it wasn't all in my head and that maybe it was a little physical. I really can't keep typing right now so I'll just tell you what saved me

- a gluten free diet.