Future treatments

blong

I thought it would be a good idea to start a topic on any potential, and new treatments that we might of heard of. Hope is a powerful emotion! I cant understand why more research is being done with this debilitation disease!

I know Pinker wrote earlier about botox via iontophoresis which sounds promising. I wish it was a practiced treatment, I have not heard at all about anyone using it besides a clinical trial.

At Virginia Tech recently (I am a Chemical Engineering student there) went to a lecture done by a faculty member describing his research. He is doing research into chemicals (I wish I would of written down the family name of these!) which cause feelings of temperature at the neurons and nerve sites. One common one would be the chemical in chili peppers which makes you feel hot and makes you sweat. But there are also ones that make you feel cold. The professor was currently doing research on how to produce these and their effect. He did not mention HH at all in the presentation because that was a side topic for his research. I went down afterwards to talk to him about whether or not he has ever heard of HH (he hadn’t) and how developed the research in it is (not very). But it does sound promising once it is further developed! Imagine topically putting these chemicals into (via iontophoresis) which will make you feel in your hands and feet (etc..) like it is cool. Maybe that would stop the sweating!

Again it is good to have hope, because as (unfortunately) this disease grows there will be more research into how to treat it. Please post with other information you may have come across!

-Ben

Jezza

I think it's a very good idea, in fact I think I started the same topic in the past, but I didn't get too many responses then, so let's try again...