Hello to you all, usefull info for you.

Flatcap

Just wanted to say hi as I stumbled across this forum whilst searching for some information.

I started suffering with HH in my mid 20's (I'm now 39) and I was very fortunate to have an understanding wife and doctor. My main problem was I'm an actor and when I'm not acting I work as a salesman, two jobs that don't lend themselves to HH very well. My main parts that cause me problems are underarm and palms. I took Propanthaline for a long time and used various underarm AC deodorants which had little effect. To cut a very long story short I ended up having a Sympathectomy in 1999 which worked very well and still does today. However, I do get some compensatory sweating on my chest, back and stomach area but this is much more manageable with Propanthaline than the underarm and palm sweating was. But I do still get a dry mouth and on some days it just doesn't seam to work, no idea why??

But this is the reason for my post.....many people who have had a Sympothectomy will suffer from compensatory sweating (CS) on the head, neck and face when eating certain foods. I was particularly bad with cheese, chips, salt and vinegar crisps, bacon, and most spicy foods. Anyway, I have a prolapsed disc in my lower back and often find it difficult to sleep because I struggle to get comfortable. I take strong pain killers but I was still struggling. I went to see my doctor and he put me on a drug called Amitriptyline. Now these are supposed to be used for depression and also for helping pain killers work better for people with severe back problems. However, since taking these I have noticed that I get no CS when eating the foods that would normally cause me major problems. Even to the extent that I had a Chicken Tika Madras last night and my head was as dry as a bone. I told my Doc about this and he says he didn't know anything about it helping with CS in HH.