Help

Paul_

Hi. I’m new to this forum but I wonder if anybody could help. I am in final year of a university degree in which I have just started my last semester. In the last week I have been told I have to do 4 oral presentations within the next 4 months and I am so scared. In the past I have done presentations most of which have done well ie I do not have a panic attack or just freeze up but in others I have had a panic attack and I am fearful this will happen again. Due to this and other factors my sp has become worse over the last year.

About six months ago I decided that I needed to do something to cure my social phobia. So I booked an appointment with a doctor who referred me to a counselor. In which he gave me information on CBT (cognitive behavior therapy) which I think would have worked if I had time to put time into it but I have not due all my uni work, so I have kept all the relaxation techniques in a folder to come back to when I have more time (in between which I have to do four oral presentations). When I told my counselor these techniques were just causing me more stress because they were too time consuming , I hinted that I thought anti depressive drugs or SSSIs might help but he did not agree and so he would not prescribe them so that is not an option unless I see another counselor who does prescribe them. Another option would be to quit university until I am more confident but I think that is the easy way out and it seems a shame that I would fail a degree just because I am scared of speaking in front of a group.

I’ve been looking through similar web sites and the main methods of curing sp seem to be CBT or prescribed drugs and neither of these seem to be viable to me at the moment. I just wondered if anybody has had success using other methods or if they had any success in using non prescribed drugs.