Hi, another newbie here!

vitalis

Hi everyone. This is likely to be another introduction (so run away! lol), but I'm new to the community so I guess I must start for the beginning. Just before start, I'm afraid I do not handle the English language enough to write in a proper way, so please forgive my mistakes.

So this is me, let's say Vitalis, male, 21 years old, living in Catalonia, Spain, and I have Social Phobia. I've been following this forum for a while and reading some of the other member's experiences, and I must say that helps to see some people that have the same problems than you. I suppose being socially isolated makes even more difficult to find people with the same problems, so I was happy to find this site.

My problem with social phobia (or social anxiety as I've read in other places) comes basically from my childhood, when I had asthma. The problem was not the illness itself, because I got rid of it in 4-5 years thanks to the treatment. The problem was that this illness kicked my health, and made me really prone to catch colds and flus, so my mom overprotected me for this. My life was simple: home-school-home-school... I was just allowed to get out with some hood mates when I was 14, and just the couple of summer months.

This circumstance made me change. I was a nice child, really funny and happy, but this obviously changed my behavior and character. I was not allowed to play football with the local team, I was not allowed to do the homework in the library with my mates, I was not allowed to go to the parties, I was not allowed to... plus, people in the village started treating me and my family like if we were from some kind of sect, because neither me and my parents are very prone to social activities... and it contribute to my shyness.