Is it possible to become a complete recluse? Tips?

twist3d

Since I don't believe I will ever get over my SAD so social situations are always going to be painful for me, I was thinking if it's possible in modern society to become a recluse?

Is anyone here in that situation? I'm talking about working from home/not working, maybe even living in reclusive place (i.e. not in big city), being as cut away from other people as just possible!

I've always dreamed I could be like Jack Torrance and live in empty hotel, lol just me and my crazy self.

I'm young and I'm seriously thinking of making this into my life goal. I'm studying to become a cleaner but I think it could be possible to get another profession where I could work from home but I don't know any, except like "super rich writer" lol.

I'm sick of human beings.

Ignace

You got a point there, humans suck. ::p: Too bad, everyone who reads this is a human and there's a chance they'll be offended. ::p: There's always a reason to go out of the house. Or you got a service who deliver food ? If you do, it's possible.

3lefts

Unfortunately that is exactly the direction I'm headed in, or figuring out.
I just picture it quiet and having a home all to myself, I'm looking into being a translator that can work from home, and just go in when I need to etc. or something like that.
Never really put it into words, but the point being is if that's the lifestyle you want it is possible.
The more you bring yourself away from people though the more the opposite effect will happen and you'll want a bit of a social aspect, if even a small bit on an irregular basis. It's best to keep a balance of sorts.

Kiwong

I've often dreamt of being a recluse too.

It is possible? Maybe yes, if I was finacially independent, could work for myself at home, or not work at all, or if I could live simply in the bush. Maybe I'm too lazy to pull it off.