Looking for some help/explanation

xDreamseller

Hi, this is my first time posting on this forum, although I've been reading it for a few days now. To kick things off, I'll give you all a brief description of my life so far. (Don't worry, it's short. *I just finished writing it...it's longer than I anticipated*)

As a child growing up (sounds weird saying that, as I'm only 19) I was always very shy around new people and authoritative figures, such as teachers. I was a very intelligent child, although I wasn't a nerd. (At least, I felt that way.) In primary school I was on every team my school had. Football, hockey, golf etc. I went to every after school club there was and did plenty of things outside of school too. Boy scouts, tennis coaching etc. I had a handful of friends that I would hang out with outside of school and had a large number of "in school" friends too.

I always thought to myself: "Lots of kids are shy around adults, it's not a problem I have, I'll just grow out of it when I'm older".

After moving to grammar school I was friends with quite a few popular "jock" type kids. We would play a lot of sport, Rugby, football, cricket, tennis, basically anything we could do to pass the time. However, the school streamlines classes after the first two years, so we all got shuffled about into different classes. Gradually, as the years passed by we grew apart and by 5th year, I barely spoke to them.