My SA is better but has lasting effects

Angie_05

Sorry I haven't posted in awhile. Been busy with a lot of things and it has helped to get SA off my mind.

I feel proud of myself that my SA has gotten better and I almost feel like a normal person for the first time in my whole life. I have no idea what changed in me. Growing up? Moving away from home? Working? I can't answer that question. Of course SA is always with me, but just not as extreme as it used to be. I still get those scared feelings where I dread making a phone call. I am also having trouble feeling confident in myself, still.

But most of all I am disappointed because having SA my whole life has caused me to not excel in the way that I know I could have. All throughout high school I was too afraid to take hard classes because I knew all the popular people were in them and I was scared of those people. Therefore, I graduated with a lower GPA and got into a normal college (university). Throughout college I didn't get involved or get to know my professors, but I needed to. I want to go to graduate school but I have few credentials except for good grades. I need teacher recommendations but they hardly know me because I never spoke in class or attended functions regarding my major.

I have moved away from that place now and I can't help but think that maybe I have ruined my future by never being outgoing. And it's too late because I can't go back and do it over. My grades could have been way better if I had joined study groups or attended class more often.

I have a lot of pressure from my family, too, to succeed at this education stuff. They haven't told me directly, but they act as though they will be very disappointed in me if I don't succeed in grad school and get that wonderful job.

I don't know how to overcome what I have done to my past with having SA (notice how I say that I have done this to myself, not SA...I take full responsibility).

Anyone else feel this way?

decadeOfSA

Angie_05 said: