Newbie here! Serious panic attack issues.

snowgirl

Hey everyone. I was apprehensive to introduce myself but I finally decided to go ahead and do it.

I am a 24 year old female and I suffer from SERIOUS panic attacks. I had my first one about 2 years ago. I was driving and it happened. At the time, my life was AMAZING.. Great job, great boyfriend, great family, great everything..

And then my life changed forever. I didn't know what it was. I had to actually grab the attention of the guy next to me in the car to call 911. I was certain I was having a heart attack. Called my father and he had to talk me down. Thank God I was able to pull over in a strip mall and walk around a local store. I paced like a crazy person until it passed. Almost 3 hours.

But it's still so hard because as supportive as people try to be, they just don't get it. Hell, if someone would have told me this before I experienced it, I would have thought they were crazy.

My anxiety attacks are still on and off. Sometimes I get small ones and sometimes they are larger. This, obviously, has brought me to this site.

I feel like they are beginning to consume me again and that is so frightening. Without these damn attacks I would have an amazing life. I have nothing to complain about.

Here are my symptoms:
First I feel my heart flutter, then it starts pounding out of control
Face flushes
I feel disoriented
I need to get air and walk around
Sometimes my arms go numb
I just overall feel like I am losing my mind and/or dying

WOW. I've never shared this with anyone really publicly like this, but I'm hoping you guys get this, given the nature of the site. It's nice to be able to share. Thanks for listening. :)

dottie

oh yes, i get this for sure. sorry you are feeling this way, so out of control. have you learned any coping techniques? are you seeing a counselor? are you reading self help books? how are you handling this?

snowgirl