social phobia and university...AHHHH!!

marmite

I am in my second year at university and am struggling now more than ever. I clam up in seminars hoping I wont be asked to speak out. Ive got a presentation to do in May, and am considering leaving as I feel that bad.

I really want to graduate next year, but the pressure on me to 'perform' in front of people is really taking its toll!

Does anyone have any similar experiences or ways that theyve learnt to overcome this?

Anonymous

Hello Marmite,

Something very similar has happened to me. I graduated two years ago and like you gave my first presentation in my second year. I was really nervous and hated the idea. The way i got round it was to practice my presentation over and over. Use the same room as you'll be using in the real presentation and rehearse it over and over. Once you get to know the lecture theatre controls and environment you'll be alot more comfortable. It works for me.
I now lecture students twice a week for an hour and i still now and then quickly go through my material to make sure i dont umm and ahhh through my talk. If you know your material well you'll start to enjoy the lecture. The short time before the presentation you'll feel anxiety and maybe in the first few slides you have. Once you get into that same rythem as what you did when you practiced you'll feel better about yourself and the anxiety will pass.

If you want to know more about my anxiety and panic attacks at uni see my post:

http://www.socialphobiaworld.com/postt165.html&sid=685facc37397398afa2900e9711e6011

Don't worry about it. If you mess it up knowone will judge you for it. Everyone is in the same boat. Its aweful i know to see people with their heads held high and confident but sometimes these are the worst at their presentations.

Regards

Orlando

Hi, Marmite,

Yes, I understand your predicament. I’m in grad school. I have to do an hour presentation on Social Phobia on Monday, March 8, 2004 at 7pm. Yuck!