Social phobia

esp

I've had social phobia a long time. I wonder if I'll ever be able to fit in anywhere, having never really worked or had a relationship or been a partier. I avoided parties and outings as a teenager because I was very shy and afraid of being played a joke on, and I couldn't talk to guys either. I just couldn't face going out and having my friends leave me alone, being left in the lurch, so I never did it. I guess it would have helped to have good friends but I didn't! And I was too afraid to make new friends because at school girls sit in groups and some of them don't want you there. I also didn't want to go out in case some bully was there and they picked on me. All this avoidance means that I never got to live a normal life and I just never went out and met anyone. I studied at college but that was all, I didn't make any new friends. I was always too afraid to get a job, because I hate answering the phone, and dealing with customers or scary bosses. I was going to go into business for myself and studied at home but I couldn't do that either. I really want a boyfriend but could never talk to guys and so never got over my fear of them. Boys were the ones who teased me at school so of course I avoided them. I also always didn't feel too great about myself and never got over that. I just always had huge crushes on guys who probably didn't know I existed. I'm getting exposure treatment at the moment so I can shop and drive. But I get worried about how will I deal with people my age when they see that I don't drink alcohol, or am really shy, or have never been to a club or pub and have never had a boyfriend. What do I tell them when they ask what I do? Dealing with people is just so hard. Lots of people my age have been in jobs for years, are starting their own families and getting married and building houses. Here I am just starting to get out there. I don't know, is there anyone out there who understands?

Chilling__Echo

hi esp!