Student doing project. What do you want the world to know?

Student

My name is Jessica. I am a student at a Canadian University. I am doing a presentation on social phobia/anxiety. i was wondering if anybody had any ideas of what my classmates should know about this disorder. how to deal with it, maybe some personal stories, something that you want the world to know about the disorder. please e-mail me or respond to this posting. thank-you for your help.

Jessica
[email protected]

SnackleZ

Living with SA is a very difficult life...
Most people live their life without any/many friends because of the fear of talking to others, fear of judgement, fear of not fitting in. That is why ones who have SA keep to themselves most of the time. They enjoy working by themselves, instead of in teams.

Quite honestly, it's hell. I can't stand seeing others go about their daily life, pretty much doing whatever they want to and not caring, then I decide that I want to do something, but turn myself against it because of fear of being judged. "That guy's stupid." "Why is he so stupid?" "I wish he'd go kill himself." These are just a few things that run through my head before I decide to do something... it can be as simple as getting out of my chair to throw away some trash, or it can be as drastic as showing off in the middle of class. I have a special talent for making everyone laugh at most of the things I say, and yet, I feel that someone doesn't like what I do and runs those questions through their head. That disturbs me greatly.

All in all, SA demands respect from EVERYONE. If you can't get it, then you keep to yourself and make every move you can to avoid social situations... things as simple as shopping at Wal Mart can feel as bad as a death in the family.

Hellraising

This is where I get all angsty.